DASURECO’s 41st Annual General Membership Assembly (AGMA) concluded on July 30, 2023 at Datu Ayuram Sports Complex, Barangay Lawa, Don Marcelino, Davao Occidental.

This year’s AGMA witnessed the overwhelming participation of more than 2100 Member-Consumer-Owners which added to the 9,544 registrants from the series conduct of District Conventions and 909 verified online registrants, thus reaching a total of 12,638 or 6.19% MCO registrants out of the total membership.

Don Marcelino Vice Mayor Mark Edward Anthony M. Maruya,M.D expressed his warm welcome to all the guests and attending MCOs followed by an Opening Message from Malita/Don Marcelino/JAS/Sarangani District Director Shiela Colina-Nugas.

Solidarity video messages were also given by the Davao Occidental Provincial Governor Franklin P. Bautista through Atty. Geoffrey P. Navarra,Jr., Davao del Sur Provincial Governor Yvonne Roña-Cagas, and District Congressman John Tracy F. Cagas.

Our assembly was even made meaningful with the presence and insights of Senator Francis N. Tolentino as our guest speaker.

“Nais ko pong ipaabot ang isang malalim na suporta sa adhikaing magbigay ng serbisyong dekalidad at sa patuloy ninyong pagsumikap upang mapanatili ang pag-unlad ng Davao del Sur at Davao Occidental”, said Senator Tolentino.

After which, an audio-visual presentation of Way Forward Electrification Plans which also emphasized the power reliability status in the municipality of Jose Abad Santos was presented by DASURECO General Manager Engr. Jerry D. Morastil, P.E.E.

NEA Administrator Antonio Mariano C. Almeda graced the event and imparted his vision and advocacy for rural electrification, stressing out more electrification programs for the people of Davao Occidental.

The assembly also presented an opportunity to acknowledge the significant contributions of our former Board of Directors Matanao District Hector C. Siao, Padada District Eduardo O. Miego, Jr., and Kiblawan District Rodrigo B. Sacedor. Our District Election Committee (DECOM) members Atty. Wenceslao A. Miro, Jr., Atty. Anatolio N. Avila Jr., Ms. Betty J. Garcia and Atty. Maruli Ali G. Sanchez were also recognized.

An Oath-taking of the re-elected Board of Directors was officiated by NEA Administrator Almeda, to whom: Atty. Glenn F. Solana of Sta. Cruz District, Marilyn M. Tarroza of Sulop District, Peter A. Mariscal of Sta. Maria District and Flora May C. Cervantes of Digos North District.

Also present were Deputy Administrator Atty. Omar M. Mayo, Deputy Administrator Ernesto O. Silvano, NEA Department Manager of the Rural Electrification Special Program Office and DASURECO Project Supervisor Nollie B. Allamillo, other NEA Staff, DASURECO Board President Al D. Castillon and other members of the Board, Mr. Danilo Omicas, and other distinguished guests.

A business meeting transpired after the program with Board President Al D. Castillon as the Presiding Officer. The 41st AGMA discussed agenda on the (1) Proposed amendment of some provisions of the Cooperative By-Laws to be consistent with R.A. 10531 or the National Electrification Administration Reform Act of 2013 and other pertinent laws governing Electric Cooperatives and (2) Proposed amendment of some provisions of the EC Policy Bulletin No. 2018-001 regarding Mortuary Assistance to our Member-Consumer-Owners (MCOs), and other matters.

With a clear focus on rural electrification and development, the 41st Annual General Membership Assembly marked a significant milestone in DASURECO’s journey towards progress and inclusivity in providing electricity to its communities.

MCOs engaged in constructive discussions, outlined future plans, and fostered collaborative partnerships to achieve their shared vision of enhanced rural electrification.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *